Home > Fun > Wikimeme

Wikimeme

April 7, 2006

Having seen this meme via various people who have posted and who feed into Lib Dem Blogs (http://www.libdemblogs.co.uk/) I couldn’t resist – You type in your birth date (but not year) and it then comes up with a whole host of events that happened on your birthday.

My list includes the following :

Events

490 BCAthens defeats Persia at the Battle of Marathon

1609Henry Hudson discovers the Hudson River.

1953Nikita Khrushchev is elected first secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union

1953 – John F. Kennedy marries Jackie Bouvier.

1962 – President John F. Kennedy declares the USA will get a man on the moon, and bring him back, by the end of the decade.

Births

1913Jesse Owens, American athlete (d. 1980)

1951Bertie Ahern, Irish politician

Deaths

1977Steve Biko, South African anti-apartheid activist (b. 1946)

Categories: Fun
  1. allan
    April 8, 2006 at 3:57 am

    You forgot one.

    1961 – JFK sends American military advisers to South Viet Nam – The number of which continued to grow with America’s involvement in the country. Kennedy explained the need for US involvement using “the domino theory.”

    Just for a bit of balance.

  2. Charles
    April 8, 2006 at 4:59 am

    In doing this meme I learned that one of my favorite NFL players shares my birthday.

    I found it interesting. I didn’t even know wikipedia had that ability.

  3. Tony Ferguson
    April 8, 2006 at 11:38 am

    allan sorry but I checked and that one does not come up under the listings for my birthday

  4. Karen
    April 11, 2006 at 12:06 am

    rather cool! nice blog…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
